|  Login

Sustainability Commission
Printer-Friendly View

A sustainable community is one that strives to achieve sustainability at the local level in the three major areas of ecology/environment, economy/employment and community/social. The purpose of our commission, in addition to recommending and undertaking initiatives (with a particular emphasis on energy conservation and cost control), is to focus and integrate town efforts to become a sustainable community by developing a town “Sustainability Plan”. Groton is fortunate to already have many official and non-official groups that address many aspects of sustainability but lacks a coordinating body to focus and promote such efforts. The Sustainability Commission's role with regard to such organizations is one of support in the integration and coordination of sustainable objectives through community outreach, education and involvement.

Contact Information
Email sustaining@townofgroton.org Members 9
Phone 978-448-1111 Selection Appointed
Fax Term 1 year
Office Town Hall, 173 Main St Remuneration None
Meeting Third Tuesday @ 7:00 PM Meeting location Town Hall: Second Floor Meeting Room

Appointed by: Board of Selectmen
MemberRoleTerm StartTerm End
Carl Canner Member 07/01/2018 06/30/2019
Bruce Easom Member 07/01/2018 06/30/2019
Carl Flowers Member 07/01/2018 06/30/2019
Alison D. Peterson Member 07/01/2018 06/30/2019
Michael E. Roberts Chair 07/01/2017 06/30/2018

News and Information

The Sustainability Committee currently has three (3) openings for new members. If interested, please consider submitting the Committee Interest form.

Sustainability Commission - Documents


Please take a look at the Sustainability Commission's Initiatives.