You are here:   Town > Boards & Committees > Park Commission
  |  Login

Park Commission
Printer-Friendly View

The Park Commissioners have under their care and jurisdiction the Town Commons (Badger, Firemen's, Legion, Minuteman, New Town, Prescott, Orchard and Sawyer) and Parks (Hazel Grove Park, Carol Wheeler Memorial Park, the Smith Social Pavilion, George and Agnes Rider Park and Cutler Memorial Park) that were gifted to the Town along with various recreation areas including the Christine Hanson Memorial Playground, Evan Holofcener Ice Rink, the Lawrence Memorial Playground and the Woitowicz tennis courts. The Commissioners also have jurisdiction over the town fields, including: Alvin Sawyer Baseball Field, Woitowicz, Cow Pond and Legion. They:
  • have responsibility to protect these areas, some of which have special restrictions and legal agreements attached to the original gift; one area, the Old Burial Ground, is a shared responsibility (see Old Burial Ground Committee)
  • maintain storage sheds and buildings, irrigation systems, and equipment
  • work with the Planning Board to acquire more land and seek gifts of land, as the Town population grows and the need for recreational facilities increases for both children and adults
The Commission dates from the early 1900s, and the membership increased from three to five members in 1953. The Commissioners do not run recreational programs but care for and maintain the above properties and work very closely with the various recreational sports leagues.

Use of all parks, commons and fields are by permit only. To request the use of a field, please fill out the Field Use Permit online. Alternatively, you may print the form here or pick one up at the Town Clerk's office located at the Town Hall, 173 Main Street.

View Cow Pond Field Layout.

Contact Information
Email Members 5
Phone 978-732-1893 Selection Elected
Fax Term 3 years
Office Town Hall | 173 Main Street Remuneration None
Meeting First Tuesday @ 7:00 PM Meeting location Other: See Agenda
Hours M 8:00am - 7:00pm; T-TH 8:00am – 4:00pm; F 8:00am - 1:00pm

MemberRoleTerm StartTerm End
Evan R. Boucher Vice-Chair 05/21/2016 05/21/2019
Kenneth Bushnell Chair 05/21/2016 05/21/2019
Anna Eliot Member 05/21/2018 05/21/2021
Timothy Siok Member 05/17/2017 05/21/2020

Parks Calendar


Park Commission - Documents