You are here:   Town > Boards & Committees > Housing Authority
  |  Login

Housing Authority
Printer-Friendly View

The Housing Authority, which was formed in 1982, has a central role in the Town's affordable housing policy. The Authority:

  • identifies and addresses the need for affordable housing in Groton and develops policies and strategies to meet those needs
  • is responsible for management policy and oversight of the Town's Elderly and Family Housing Programs
  • negotiates with developers for affordable housing units in return for an increase in density of particular developments.
  • may receive title to actual housing units, parcels of land, or cash in lieu of units, or land, from developers

In 1990, the Authority completed its first affordable housing complex, which it owns and operates. The complex consists of 20 units of elderly/disabled housing, developed through the Commonwealth's Chapter 667 Program, and 7 units of family housing through the Chapter 705 Program.

As of 1997, the Town offered the following additional affordable housing, built under various state and federal programs:

  • 34 units of housing for the elderly/disabled on Willowdale Road, built under a HUD grant
  • 24 one-, two-, and three-bedroom units (Winthrop Place) subsidized by the Federal Housing Authority (FHA)
  • 8 of the 32-unit Brookfield Commons townhouses; these were purchased as condominiums by first-time buyers with low interest mortgages subsidized by the Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency (MHFA)

Lisa Larrabee is the Executive Director of the Housing Authority.

Contact Information
Email Members 5
Phone (978) 448-3962 Selection Elected
Fax (978) 448-5845 Term 5 years
Office 19 Lowell Rd Remuneration None
Meeting Second Wednesday @ 7:00 PM Meeting location Groton Housing Authority
Hours Mon, Tue: 8:00a - 12:30p; Wed, Thur: 11:30a - 4:00p

MemberRoleTerm StartTerm End
Leslie B. Colt Member 05/18/2016 05/19/2017
Daniel Emerson Treasurer 05/06/2002 06/30/2021
Brooks Lyman Secretary 05/20/2014 05/21/2019
Deidre Slavin-Mitchell Chair 05/01/2013 05/21/2018
Ellen Todd Vice-Chair 05/21/2015 05/21/2020