Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission was established in 1963 “for the promotion and development of the natural resources and the protection of the watershed resources” of the Town (Conservation Commission Act, MGL Ch. 40, §8C). The Commission is responsible for the administration of the Wetlands Protection Act (MGL Ch.131, §40) and Regulations (310 CMR 10.00) and the Town of Groton Wetlands Protection Bylaw (Ch. 215 of the Town Code) which became effective in 2001. Any person intending to alter any area in or within 200 feet of a river or perennial stream or in or within 100 feet of a wetland (intermittent stream, creek, lake, pond, swamp, marsh, bog, or wet meadow) must file a Request for Determination of Applicability or a Notice of Intent with the Commission. Minor projects (decks, utility installations, tree cutting, removal of non-native, invasive plants, etc.) that involve minimal or temporary intrusion into the 100-foot buffer zone of wetland resource areas require the filing of a Request for Determination of Applicability before the work commences.

The Commission also manages over 1000 acres of Town-owned conservation land and oversees applications for Agricultural Preservation Restrictions and Conservation Restrictions on privately held property. The periodic updating of the Groton Open Space and Recreation Plan is spearheaded by the Conservation Commission, with the assistance of the Parks Commission. A current Plan maintains the Town’s eligibility to apply for state funding grants. Community input and careful assessment of the status of natural resources assist the Town in prioritizing parcels for protection.

The Commission and staff advise other municipal officials and boards on conservation issues relating to these boards’ areas of responsibility. One member serves on the Earth Removal & Stormwater Advisory Committee. The Commission is staffed by Conservation Administrator Nikolis Gualco.

Contact Information
Email Members 7
Phone (978) 448-1106 Selection Appointed
Fax (978) 448-1113 Term 3 years
Office Town Hall Remuneration None
Meeting Second and Fourth Tuesday @ 7:00 PM Meeting location Town Hall: Second Floor Meeting Room
Hours Mon 8-7PM; Tues 9-4PM; Wed 8-4PM; Thurs 9-4PM; Fri 9-1PM

Appointed by: Board of Selectmen
MemberRoleTerm StartTerm End
Bruce Easom Clerk 07/01/2017 06/30/2020
Marshall E. Giguere Member 07/01/2018 06/30/2021
Laurence J. Hurley Member 11/13/2017 06/30/2019
Olin Lathrop Vice-Chair 07/01/2017 06/30/2020
Eileen Mchugh Member 07/01/2018 07/01/2018
Peter A. Morrison Member 07/01/2016 06/30/2019
John Smigelski Chair 07/01/2018 06/30/2021